• Advertisement

Virginia Creeks and Rivers

Talk about virginia gold

Moderators: SuperModerator, Admin

Virginia Creeks and Rivers

Postby duckman1074 » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:21 pm

Hello all,
I am a net researcher (hobby level).
I have done a bit of research I wanted to share with everyone.
I asked a simple question and received a reply that you should know.
The outcome as I understand it, you should use caution when looking for gold in a creek or river.
You could be breaking some laws somewhere, but it's not against the law until you get caught.

Also, if a club grants use on a creek or river without getting the required permits from the corps, they may also be breaking the law. This should be reviewed from a legal standpoint. Paying a land use fee may not be the only thing that is required. A land use fee would only grant permission to dig on the landowner's property and not cover a creek.

For those whom say it is legal and considered recreational prospecting, read this http://www.au-prospecting.com/gold/viewtopic.php?p=762&sid=f104b49d18efec8832ae9121c2db25da

No other information or location has been provided to the corps.

-------------------------------------

To: Corps of Engineer's -
Question:

Greetings,
I would like to inquire about creeks and rivers in Virginia.
(a) Does the Corps of Engineers oversee and manage the creeks and rivers?
(b) Are there any regulations related to metal detecting or gold panning in a creek or river?
(c) Who really owns a creek or river?

Thank you,
----------------------------------------------------

Answer -

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers regulates certain work in creeks and rivers
under our authority contained in Section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act and
Section 404 of the Clean Water Act. The Norfolk District is one of 38 Corps
operating districts in the United States, and our borders for regulatory
purposes encompass all of Virginia. You can find an overview of our